JSCClogoBW
Financial » Financial Aid

Scholarships

Jefferson State Community College scholarships are open to students entering as freshman, currently enrolled students and to students who transfer to other colleges and universities. Either the Donor or the Student Assistance and Scholarship Committee establishes the selection criteria.

Thomas E. & Judy M. Merritt Scholarship

 (2015 Deadline has expired)

Requirements:

  1. Scholarships are awarded on yearly basis.
  2. Shall not exceed one year.
  3. Minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA after two semesters of enrollment.
  4. Completed 24 hours at Jefferson State Community College.
  5. Student must exemplify servant leadership, based on resume, essay, and 2 letters of recommendation.

High School Students

Requirements:

Current Jefferson State students - 2015 Deadline has expired.

All applicants must attach a two-page essay and one recommendation to the scholarship application.

UAB Honors Choice Scholarship

The University of Alabama at Birmingham has been gracious to provide three (3) two-year UAB Honors Choice Scholarship valued at $3,000.00($1500.00 per year) to Jefferson State Community College students.

Only students who have been admitted to UAB with a grade point average of at least a 3.5 on a 4.0 academic scale and demonstrate leadership qualities are eligible to apply.

Students must complete the JSCC Transfer Scholarship application which can be obtained from the JSCC webpage under the financial tab. Applications with the additional required documents must be returned to the JSCC financial aid office to be considered, no later than May 14, 2013.

Application Forms

High School

Current Students

Application Forms

Outgoing/Transfer Students

Other Scholarship Opportunities

Jefferson State offers numerous scholarships in the form of tuition waivers. Information for these scholarships is available in the respective divisions.

Scholarship Contact Phone Number Email
Academic-
New Students
High School Senior
Counselor Or
Financial
Aid Office
  pmclean@jeffstateonline.com
Academic-
Previously Enrolled
Financial Aid Office   pmclean@jeffstateonline.com
Ambassadors Robin Guinn (205) 983-5245 rguinn@jeffstateonline.com
Thomas E. & Judy M. Merritt Scholarship Criteria    
Children of Blind Parents Debra Culver
Rehabilitation
Specialist
(800) 441-7607
(334) 613-2248
(256) 362-0638
 
Counselors Financial Aid Office   pmclean@jeffstateonline.com
Phi Theta Kappa Liesl Harris
Shelby Campus -
Beta Lambda Delta
Shelley Coley - 
Jefferson
Pi Pi Chapter
(205) 983-5956

lward@jeffstateonline.com

scoley@jeffstateonline.com

Recruitment Rodney Thompson (205) 856-7914 rthompsn@jeffstateonline.com
Scholar’s Bowl Lucy Lewis (205) 856-6046 llewis@jeffstateonline.com
Jeff State Singers (32) Michael Thomas (205) 856-7900 mthomas4@jeffstateonline.com
Sigma Kappa Delta
English Honor's
Society
Connie Caskey
Shelby-Hoover 
Katie Boyer -
Jefferson
(205) 983-5966

(205) 856-6085
ccaskey@jeffstateonine.com

kboyer@jeffstateonline.com
Speech/Debate Janice Ralya (205) 983-5963 jralya@jeffstateonline.com
Student Government
Association (SGA)
Tiffany Todd (205) 856-7860 todd@jeffstateonline.com
ENACTUS Phaer Bonner (205) 983-5202 pbonner@jeffstateonline.com